Dear Readers,

Dear readers and classic book lovers,

I write to you in request of your opinions of: Wuthering Heights.  This book has been in my TBR pile for a while now… to be frank, I started the book years ago.  When I was probably too young to read it, and didn’t actually get very far.  So,  I recently heard from another reader that watching the movie helps in appreciating the book (in this case – not recommended for all books).  So, I found a BBC version of Wuthering Heights (2009)  recently and watched it.  And hated it.  What a horrible story.  What horrible people.  They’re just not nice people.  Mean.  I wanted to like the characters or at lease just one of them… but I couldn’t.  Please forgive me if you like this book, I do not mean to offend. Actually, if you do like the book, please please tell me why.  I know I shouldn’t compare the book to the movie so before I scratch this book off the list… I come to you, fellow readers.   Is it the book… or is this TV adapted version to blame?

All my love,

LJ

12 thoughts on “Dear Readers,

  1. Weeeell………..I’m reluctant to say it, but I loathe this book. Horrible people in violent relationships, destructive control masquerading as love *ducks for cover as passionate Bronte fans throw sharp objects* But what I would say is so many people love this book that you should give it a go & don’t let the TV adaptation put you off – its just one interpretation. I may even join you, as I’ve been thinking I should re-read it to see if I can get more out of it this time….

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m going to echo the previous commenter. In my opinion, the movie was horrible because the book is horrible. I’ve never understood why people find this book romantic. I read it a long time ago but remember it as ugly and melodramatic and the story is ridiculous. But many people love it.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I thought that I hated it when I first tried to read it, but then I was thinking it was going to be some grand love story like people make it out to be.Once I knew it really is meant to be horrible and totally messed up, with all the characters as terrible people, I really really enjoyed it. It’s meant to be melodramatic and intense- to me, it makes it better, but I see why people really don’t like it. And really, anyone who thinks Heathcliff is some kind of romantic hero needs to reconsider their opinions of relationships!

    Liked by 2 people

  4. I’m with you all the way on this one – have tried desperately to get on with it but I just can’t and have never finished it! I have resigned myself to the fact that this is one work of classic literature that is just not going to float my boat – ever! I’ve decided that actually life’s too short to spend it in the company of hideous characters that we would give a very wide berth were we to meet them in real life…

    Liked by 1 person

    • That’s a really good way of putting it! One of my reading resolutions for this year is actually to give myself permission to NOT finish a book if I’m not loving it. In the past I’ve always tried to finish them regardless… feeling guilty if I didnt. I don’t know why but I’m working on that! 🙂

      Like

      • I was the same – I always felt an obligation to get to the end of anything I tried, and if I disliked it I somehow felt it was a failing on my part. The trouble is there’s just so much I want to read these days I haven’t got time to stick with anything I don’t love 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

